A bed time story for you.. 99 GSX issues

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

kaspermm

Hello everyone.

I am writing this because of several reasons:

So that my experiences will not be lost and maybe some out there, other than me, can learn from them.

and besides that, I just need to ventilate and my girlfriend is sick of me talking about the Doo.

In the spring of 2012 I decided that now was the time for me to buy a PWC. - it had long been a dream of mine, but because of several reasons it had never been possible.

I am a student with 3 years left before I graduate. (Marine Engineering) and funds were an issue

-PWC's was illegal here in Denmark until 2010 - because of some law passed in the late 80's, when PWC's were booming, and people thought they were to noisy ect.

But now was the time, and the next question was, which PWC.

A brand new of a known make was out of the question since they cost more than 20.000$ (converted) here i Denmark.

I could import a brand new "Hison Seajet" from china for about 6.000$ - but they had a baaaaad rep.

so I decied that would go with a used one from a know make - eg. Seadoo.

I didn't know much about them and I was about to find out, that I should have done some more homework on the topic.

Found a Seadoo GSX-L 1999 with a newbuild engine, on an unregistered, non road legal trailer for 5.000$ (converted)

Engine was rebuild because the the ski had been sunk after a leaky VTS - they said that everything inside the engine was new, and the cylinders had been drilled to oversize by a professional company.

the seller was a auto mechanic and seamed very trustworthy. they had not run it since the rebuild only test started it.

it had 89 hours on the clock. it started fine, and rev'ed fine too.

bought it and took i home (across the country to my birth island of Bornholm) a trip of 400km (250 mil.)