97 GTX - Blown MPEM - How do I winterize it?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

dkhack

Newbie here...I have a 1997 GTX with a 878 motor. I blew the MPEM late in the Summer and I need to get it winterized. Anybody have thoughts on how to accomplish this? It's getting cold in Michigan and I need to get this done soon! Thanks in advance for any assistance/advice.

Add stabil to the gas, jump the solenoid to turn the motor over and fog the engine, pour or pump RV antifreeze into the exhaust and cylinder head, spray some fogging oil into the spark plug holes and carbs.

Lou

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi & welcome to the forum.
follow the above advice and you should be good.

Where about are you in Michigan?
See below for "Michigan here" thread

I own a "remote spark" box. It simply connects to the battery and then you snap the terminals onto the rotor cap. In this case directly to the spark plugs.

With the box you could actually start your ski.

It is basically an emergency come home device as it can't advance timing and what not.

I'm thinking it was about 100 bucks from Autozone or Harbor Freight.

Under the carbs right side of the ski. But to jump the starter solonoid, it is in the rear black electrical box. Take a screw driver and touch the two large posts together. It will spark, and should engage the starter.