Wont run

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

justinb

Hi All

I am new here and just bought my first jet ski , I have a seadoo bombardier 2002 gti .

I have taken it out a couple of times, I ran ok , until the last time I took it out.

Rode it a little Harder and played in the waves my ski generated.

Anyway it stopped and would not start, I took it home and did the following things

1. Recharged my battery incase it went flat.

2. Sprayed all the electrical switches with contact cleaner .

3. Replaced the spark plugs with new ones .

4.checked the spark plugs for spark ,which where good.

5.getting 2 beeps on my lanyard when it's fitted.

6. Starter starts and engine cranks over

7. Motor tries to start for a split second.

8. Poured a mix of fuel and oil down the carb and each cylinder

It starts up and as long as my finger is on the start button it sounds like it's running , If I let go it stops .

Is there any other checks I can do ,

Thanks guys

Check the compression.
Sparkplugs out and wires grounded on the orange posts. Fuel OFF and hold the throttle wide open and crank until the gauge stops climbing.
Perfect compression is 150 psi per cylinder.

How is fuel usually fed to the carbs......fuel pump? My DI has a fuel pump buzz when I put the key on to prime the fuel pressure so if its got a pump you can start there maybe?
Almost sounds like not enough fuel is getting to the carbs

On a 2002 GTI it is a vacuum operated fuel pump that is part of the body of the carb.
It is not an electric fuel pump.

Compression gauge.
A lot of people have had issues with the Harbor Freight ones. You can get one on loan from Autozone and O'Riley's.

Thank you , let's just say the compression is right ,what do I do next lol

the plugs are definitely got spark as I tool them out and cranked the motor having
It touching the top of the motor frame