GTX DI Engine Problems

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

kastevenson

Hello all,
I'm new to the PWC world and a new owner to a 2001 GTX DI in great cosmetic shape for its age (see picture)

Brief backstory: I bought the ski from a family friend who had a good 15 years of service from the machine and had recently entered into the boat world and didn't need it any more. It has 175 hours and was serviced by a dealer at the end of every season. I got a real good deal on the ski and aluminum Triton trailer and had always wanted a PWC if a good enough deal came along. This seemed to be that deal. Bought the machine and spent 4 issue-free weekends this summer on the water - had a blast. Until....

Last Sunday a buddy and I had the ski out on the lake and had been on the water for about 20 minutes cruising around 40mph when all of a sudden we lost all power and the ski just died right in the water - no miss fires, noises, or coughing - went from running fine to nothing at all and wouldn't restart. After being towed back to land, I pulled the ski out and was able to get it to come to life for a few seconds if I stayed on the throttle. Then it wouldn't even do that much. Neither I nor the previous owner have had any issues out of it thus far. It has always started right up and ran like a top and has always been ran on the XP-S oil.

While trying to restart the machine on the water, I got a maintenance light twice (MANT, no beep codes).

I took the ski to the local dealer for a look-over and upon testing compression, both cylinders were pretty low (less than 90). His diagnosis was an engine rebuild based on that info alone.

Knowing that I've owned the ski for less than 2 months and am not heavily invested in it (less than $1000 for the ski and trailer), and knowing the complexity and age of the DI 2-strokes, I've got a few questions for you more experienced owners.