2002 RXDI Piston and Cylinder Wall Scratches

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Klipsh

Hi,

I rebuilt a 951 DI in 02 RXDI last summer it ran fine. I discovered i had an exhaust leak so I pulled off the whole exhaust and I just decided to take a look inside the cylinder and I saw the piston was scoured I have since pulled the engine and got it apart ill link the photos. I am a rookie looking for advice as to how I should proceed I think a ball hone is in order first the sleeves are brand new and a machine shop did all the clerances etc. Most of the scratches you can barley feel but I'm concerned as to why there is so much wear the crank feels good. Any help is appreciated greatly as I am 16 years old with a non-mechanically inclined family I'm figuring things out on my own.

IMG_8646.JPGIMG_8647.JPGIMG_8648.JPGIMG_8649.JPGIMG_8650.JPGIMG_8651.JPGIMG_8652.JPGIMG_8653.JPG

What oil are you using?
Is the oil pump adjusted correctly?

I would lean towards water ingestion. Is the pipe/exhaust manifold leaking? Do you have the rubber intake covers on?

What oil are you using?
Is the oil pump adjusted correctly?

I would lean towards water ingestion. Is the pipe/exhaust manifold leaking? Do you have the rubber intake covers on?
I am running "AMSOIL HP Marine® 100% Synthetic 2-Stroke Oil"

I am confident the pump was adjusted correctly, I had it on the richer setting for break in.

Yes, I did have the rubber intake covers on. But on afterthought, I know what the issue was my fire extinguisher had come lose from where I had it mounted and started releasing its contents while I was riding it wasn't much but it was a dry extinguisher, and I'm more than confident it caused that excessive wear on the piston skirt. But im not sure if it could have scoured the piston

My question to you is would I need new pistons? I think I could most likely ball hone the cylinders as the scratches are not that bad.