Running on hose

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Collinfox01

So I am new to jet skis. I just bought an 01 Sea-doo GTX from my uncle. It’s a 2 Stroke and it has 180 hours on it. I never plan to run it in salt water but if I were to run it in brackish water and wanted to flush it out with the hose, how long could I let it run? I have started it one time on the hose since owning it and I’ve noticed that it seems to idle up to 4500 rpm with the jet pump is not submerged. I am just making sure that running it on the hose at that rpm will not damage anything or if I should avoid brackish water at all costs.

4500 is a little high, normally they run around 2800 ish out of the water. As long as it is idling around 1400 in the water I wouldn't mess with it but I wonder if your idle is too high in the water too. As far as flushing it , it should take no more than 5-10 seconds or so of water running to flush, try not to run it much longer because of the carbon seal(it isn't getting any water for cooling).
Also make sure you are flushing it correctly. start engine, turn on water, turn off water, turn off engine...never turn off engine with water running!

4500 is a little high, normally they run around 2800 ish out of the water. As long as it is idling around 1400 in the water I wouldn't mess with it but I wonder if your idle is too high in the water too. As far as flushing it , it should take no more than 5-10 seconds or so of water running to flush, try not to run it much longer because of the carbon seal(it isn't getting any water for cooling).
Also make sure you are flushing it correctly. start engine, turn on water, turn off water, turn off engine...never turn off engine with water running!
I think some modifications have been done to it. I took it out yesterday, it idles at 1600 rpm in the water

The only reason to run these on the hose is to flush the cooling system.