Hello, I'd like to introduce myself with one tricked out ride!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Boattronics

Hi guys, I'd like to introduce myself here. My name is Tony Eden, and my company is called Boattronics of North Florida. I've been a marine electronics technician for my whole adult life, please check out my website @ http://boattronics.net/
I'm here because of a new market that I didn't even realise existed before! Forum member and friend Slug-O came to me with an idea I hadn't played with before, to trick out a seadoo with all the electronic fishing goodies!
It was right up my alley since pwc's use a 12 volt system. Here's how we did it-
Leon wanted to add a Fishfinder/gps combo, compass, vhf, and an amplified stereo system! The first challenge we faced was the electrical system. We had to make sure that no matter what, the starting battery would always be full and ready to start. To accomplish this, we added a second battery in the nose of the pwc. Expanding foam was used to build a spot that the new battery box would fit into.
Then, the charging system had to be considered. How would we charge this secondary battery without compromising the primary battery? Answer- an ACR, or automatic charging relay. This device senses a charge from the engine or charger, and once the primary battery reaches 12.8 volts it engages and charges the secondary battery as well. As soon as the voltage drops, the device disconnects and isolates the secondary battery. So basically, he can run his accessories all day long without any concern, his primary battery will always be full! Then we also installed a switch so in an emergency he can start off of the secondary battery if need be. Two separate 12 volt chargers were also installed.