04 Islandia 240EFI Issue- New Member Looking for Some Help

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

04IslandiaOwner

This seems like a great forum. I am new to boating and we just purchased our first boat, a 04 Islandia 240EFI from the origional owner. Have a weird issue. Initially, the boat starts great. We will take it out and after running for 30-45min (it runs perfectly during this time), we idle back in to drop off passengers, idle back out and when i try to come out of idle and give throttle, engine will stutter and then kick off completely. It will then not start. No warning beeps/indicators. Sometimes after sitting off 30min or so, it will then start again.

Looking for any ideas on what might be going on. FYI, previous owner had not used the boat much at all the past season and a half but never had any issue like this before. Thanks in advance for the help!

Hi & welcome to the forum.

Tony will answer this for you, give him some time for a reply.
[MENTION=16022]Dr Honda[/MENTION]

sorry double post for some reason....see above.

Last edited by a moderator:
FYI, took it back out today. Started fine after we put it in the water. Had a fuel pressure guage and it measured at 80psi. We went ahead and put a new fuel filter on it because we had an extra. Idled out and it did the same thing, as soon as i went and gave it throttle it sputtered out and motor stopped. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Welcome.

80 PSI !! The second gen 240 engine should only be running at around 41-44 PSI.

So... either your regulator is bad, or the gauge is.

Also... I know on my boat... if I shut it off, and sit... the bilge fumes will smother the engine. So... did you run the bilge fan before trying to run it again?

Last edited by a moderator:
To expand on what Doc said...