understanding a seadoo functionality - newbiew guide

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

cykrus

Hello team,

I am kind of new in the "business" i own a challenger 1996 modified with an engine 2004 rotax 1503 4tec and a RXT dashboard (pictures on another thread). Now, i have beed a few times on the water i kind of learned how to use it but, as an engineer and because i LOVE it and how it drives i would like to find out a bit about functionality, especially the engine in order to take good care of it. And here goes my first set of questions:

1. The RTX dashboard .. does it have a back-light ? mine does not ... is there a wire I am missing (one of the picn should power the backlight? or no backlight at all ?

2. How does it know the cardinal point that is being displayed on the LCD ? ... the sensor is inside the dashboard or it is an external sensor ?

3. this is the tough one .... How does a jet engine work ? ... i understand that is has a 4 stroke engine ... that connects through an ax to the propeller that is inside the channel between the bottom intake and the jet nozzle at the back of the boat. That is in big terms how i see it. But how does it cool the exhaust ? where does it take water from and how does it throw it out ?

4. I understood I have 2 cooling systems, one closed circuit for the engine itself (cooling the piston housing) and the second one with water lake cooling the exhaust .. right ? How often do i need to replace the cooling liquid ? How to take the old one out ?

5. For the engine oil I saw a video on youtube about how to remove the old oil (with a suction pump) through the "oil level indicator". How much oil this engine has ? What kind of oil should I replace it with ? How often to do this ?

6. Is there any other type of oil or lubrication I should do on a regular basis ? like bearings etc ?