Total Noob, Great Site

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

edchris

I have a dockload of catamarans, powerboats & human powered devices. I have never owned a Jetski, in fact have only driven one once.
I was given a 20 year old '95 SeaDoo SPi. 580 single carb Rotax.
I am somewhat familiar with the Rotax 2 strokes, as I raced Bombardier Can Am MX2 motocross bikes back in the late 70's...lots of power in a small package.
I was given this machine, with a total of 50ish, yes only 50 hours. He still had 1/3 of the jug of oil he bought 8 years ago!
All graphics are unblemished, the retro orange/purple kind of grows on you! There is no corrosion,(freshwater boat) & the storage tub/bins are uncracked, as are the bumpers. All footgrips are present & seat is not torn. No visible nicks of any sort on impeller, & I can see no daylight between vanes & wear ring.
It would sort of start, but not run. As it still had the same tank of fuel from 3 years ago, my first thought was bad fuel, along with ethanol.
After draining & new fuel, I got it to start & idle in driveway. Put it in the lake, & it would eventually go, if you got over the first 1/2 of throttle, which was dead. It did not want to idle. Figured the garage was easier than fixing at lake, so we pulled it back home.
I then found this forum, & after spending appx 15 hours reading & bookmarking post, I started a proper overhaul.
Pulled the carb, & dropped it at dealer. I had not dealt with regulated/internal pump carbs, & the kids wanted it going by weekend, so for the $100 labour, let them do it.
In the meantime, I replaced all fuel lines, pulled fuel tank & filter/separator to completely clean, changed jet pump oil,(Redline, $16 for a litre vs $20 for a tiny bottle of Bombardier stuff), replaced small 2mm oil lines, greased drive line, new plugs, cleaned what looked like a dead cow out the bilge, & finally washed & waxed her.