Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

David Buhagiar

Hello everyone :)

I'm new to this forum and to the world of PWCs in general.

My first pwc is a 2004 Seadoo GTI RFI LE. It was rebuilt about a year ago and did 10 hours since then.

When I bought it I literally took the plunge. The ski ran perfect on the water, however it would not start in the water after a good run.

Despite the fact that as a two stroke it idles on 1 cylinder, I believe that it is running rough. I came across a lot of posts about this ski with owners practically reporting the same issues. Unfortunately, when issues are resolved threads are usually left open-ended.

Even though I am not tech savvy I'm ready to get my hands dirty (and cut!) and have a list of stuff to try before moving on to a dealer, inc. changing of petrol (which I am still figuring out how to do since siphoning doesn't appear to work!), crank sensor cleaning, rave valve cleaning and injector testing.

Any input is much appreciated. Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

I own an '01 GTX RFI, which has the exact same engine. It definitely does "feel" rough on idle, but from what I am gathering, thats just how they are designed to run. The non-start issue I can't help you with, other than it possibly being a large rotary valve clearance, and the heat of a hot engine will cause this to increase. Sometimes my ski takes a few more kicks than usual when hot too.
How many hours in total are on it?

Hey Ranga!

About 220 hours on it in total. Also, is there some way to check the rotary valve clearance and any ideas of how I can correct the problem if I find out that this is the issue?

Thanks mate :)