787 RFI Another Oil In Cylinder question

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Broosedamoose67

Premium Member
Premium Member
I'm sorry if this has already been answered but I couldn't find it. I'm new to ski's so it may seem like a dumb question but I need the answer. I was able to find out why oil is getting into one of the cylinders by searching and reading and I know I either need to rebuild the engine or buy a new/rebuilt one but my question is this: Can the oil line just be clamped off and then use pre-mixed fuel instead until I can afford to fix it right? I have a 2002 GTX RFI DI 2-Stroke.

Last edited:
I called a SeaDoo shop and asked them about it and was told it can't be done with my ski. He said that using oil in the fuel will gum up the injectors real fast. He suggested I either get another engine or sell it. Rebuilding it would cost as much if not more than a new engine. I asked him how much it would be and he said the ski isn't really worth fixing due to all the problems they had. Sucks because I just put in a new jet pump, wear ring and prop. :mad:

Last edited:
On a DI ski there is no rotary valve to leak oil in which is the common cause on these and is probably what you are reading. Also no oil line to clamp off on yours.

DO NOT go premix on a DI ski, the bottom end will get no lubrication at all.

Probably the cause of your oil flooding on your DI is the oil injection pump leaking.

On a DI ski there is no rotary valve to leak oil in which is the common cause on these and is probably what you are reading. Also no oil line to clamp off on yours.

DO NOT go premix on a DI ski, the bottom end will get no lubrication at all.

Probably the cause of your oil flooding on your DI is the oil injection pump leaking.