oil pump spring

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jackson09

hi everyone. i have a 95 spi that is having problems with the oil pump. i think some sort of spring broke on the part that the throttle cable connects to. it will pull up to let oil in, but wont go back. Im no mechanic but i assume this was flooding the engine or carbs with oil, and the ski wouldnt run if you pulled the throttle. I fixed this by jerry rigging a spring from the little pulley on the pump to one of the motor mounts. this made the ski run fine for months, but now i cant get the spring to work right anymore. my question is do i have to get a whole new oil pump or can i just replace the spring inside? I tried to get my ghetto spring to work yesterday and it looked like it was working outside of the water but once i got in the water the ski sounded really weird and muffled (nothing sucked up into it) and it would only rev a little bit and maybe go like 5mph. Does anyone have any idea why this would happen? Did the carbs get clogged or the spark plugs get fouled?

check the plugs, and if you dont replace the pump spring or replace thee entire pump assy, then i'd block it off, and go premix. No need to put a 1000 dollar motor at the hands of a 1 dollar spring..(spring that you got going to the mount).:cheers:

Compression?

With the statement you made about the sound and the speed and with the problems you've had in the past, jury rigging a spring, ........I'd def do a compression test on your engine to see if it's been damaged.

With what you quoted above, I would not doubt that this motor might alread have some cylinder issues.

You can buy the compression gage at a local Auto Parts store for $25 bucks or less...........