Just bought a 98 Speedster- NEED HELP PLS!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffdiedrich

Hello everyone, Im new to this ive always had outboards and this jet thing is all new to me. Here is goes.. Bought the boat 98 speedster twinn 800's last week knowing it might need a few things.. Drive cable was hit and miss ( real hard to put in forward Ect ) Saturday after buying it 400 miles way i took it out on the water.. Ran perfect for 20 min, popped the hatch while it was running good to see how everything is doing and the " water jet valve thing on the exhuast the thing that looks like a rave valve but really has 2 hoses going to it was hooked up wrong and dripping water out of the bottom and the side " Also there is a exhaust leak somewhere,I said ohh ok ill have to replace that no biggy and shut the hatch and drove foranother 5 minutes, untill both engines lost power and wont rev past 3,500. I was thinking the neutral switch because i had the hole assembly out 10 times messing the the cable trying to get it too hook into gear.. So i idle it back to the dock load it and sence i know nothing about jet boats i figured id drop it off at the dealer to have a new cable and see why it wasnt running past 3,500. They called me today saying there are a number of things wrong 1st all 4 exhaust resignators are burnt up and they have holes in them ( where the smoke is comming from ) and 1st they have to fix that to diagnose why its not revving past 3,500. I told them to put the shift cable in and let me pick it up. they told me 104$ apiece for the resignators and couple hundred labor to start there just so it wouldnt leak exhuast so they could really see whats going on.. I know i should fix the leak but im not dumb that wouldnet make the engine not rev past 3,500. any ideas? Could it be the neutral switch cuz i was messing with it with the cables? Im going to fix the resignators mysel