96 GTX no Start Diesel Mech asking for help

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

RonDiesel

New Here but I have been lurking around....
I just bought a 96 GTX not running for the last six months to screw around with while I await my fate in an ongoing divorce. According to the seller his dealer told him the carbs needed to be rebuilt and the gas tank needs to be removed and cleaned which he was told the engine has to come out to get the tank out.

I am a diesel mechanic but I am not afraid to get envolved in anything that runs on fuel so I was reading through all of these posts but I think its time to ask for some Help.

The engine turns over and has 180# in both cylinders. The Ski has the old gray lines which I replace with new black lines and order a new fuel selector.

I checked for spark and it seems weak to me although its there. I used a spark tester and get a weak glow. I used a new plug grounded to the head and can see spark but it look like an old lawn mower would put out not what I would expect from and electronic ignition or is this not and HEI system?

I checked all the fuses frnt and back thier all good. The coil had some rust on the ground bolt so I cleaned it up but no Change. I didn't like how the plug wires are just stuck up inside the coil. one wire was hanging out because the litle plastic clip was broke. I guess I'll get new wires but I sure that is not my problem.

I have read about the stator/pickup bracket but i have not pulled the front cover but was thinking about it since I got the carbs off for rebuilding.

When I check for 12v at the white wire at the coil I get nothing if i leave it plugged into the coil and I get a meduim glow on my test light if I remove it from the coil. Am I checking this correctly? Should I get a bright light from the white wire. Should I use a meter instead of a test light?