2007 gtx limited s/c 4tec NO START

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

THEREVIVAL

Hoping someone here can make sure I'm not missing anything.

Base story- over the last year the ski has intermittently had starting issues which I thought was just the start/stop switch. If you pressed the switch a few times it would eventually start. Finally got around to replacing s/s switch and checking out old switch found it has seriously high resistance even when being pressed. So thought I was good to go - wrong. I was good for a few starts then suddenly it started happening more often. To which point the ski will never start now. Did some diagnostic (I'm a 20 year auto tech) found that if you jump the starter solenoid it runs fine. The start solenoid has 12v to it all the time and the ecu grounds the circuit. Tested the voltage at the solenoid and have good voltage. Tested the circuit from solenoid to ecu wiring has .03 ohms. I'm left with only thinking that the ecu is bad, BUT I'm worried there's possibly something else going on.

Can't find any info on any prerequisites the ski may have that would prevent it from starting. I know it checks the dess key but what else? Anything like in the auto world where you have a neutral safety switch, maybe a rollover switch or some sort of fail safe. That would tell the ecu its NOT allowed to crank. Don't wanna put a ecu in if the ecu is being told it can't start. (I have tried both keys).

Any info or help would be appreciated.

Have you changed your solenoid? The brown ones are a known problem and do exactly what you are describing. They will always click but they don't actually make contact internally and won't pass voltage through. It starts not making contact every once in a while, and then goes to only starting once every 10 pushes until it won't start it at all. The new black plastic version is proving to be way more reliable and be bought for about $10.