What is the best oil to use in my 155 4-tec?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

seadooman55

hello to all! i am getting ready to do a season oil change and since i am new to these 4strokes, i don't know if i should go full synthetic and what weight? I was thinking a 5w-30 mobile 1. But, then iv'e herd not to run a full synthetic? I don't want to run BRP oil because i beilive there are other better and cheaper brands out there that will do the same. Let me know what you guys think!:cool:

Full synthetic seems to be a no no for ones with super chargers, however owner's manual should confirm this.
I had a discussion with an AMSOIL rep at the boat show and he said they can match any of BRPs oils with warranty approved ones at a lower cost.

That makes sense i have herd not to use full synthetic in a superchargerd ski but i have a naturally aspirated 155 so i'm thinking a mobile 1 or amsoil full synthetic but what weight do you think will be suitable? i was thinking a 5w-30 but i know some new engines can run a 0w-30. What do you think? I lost my manual so i don't know what they recommend..

Here is some information on changing your 4-tec engine oil, all models;

1)420320920-$7.25
2)420850500-$8.99
3)420950860-$2.20

Oil filter /I use a K&N off their website.
1)KN556-$12.95

Oil 10w40 Mineral Oil or synthetic blend is ok on Super Charged models.
Be sure you use 10w40, marine 4 stroke Oil, with a API of SL, SJ or SN.
You need 3 L or 2.7 us quarts with filter for oil change.

Oil extractor from West Marine. Company Tempo, Part# 170200 Model# OB5 Retails about $50.00.