Reliability of 3D Di

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

ProbeGT

Hi guys

I currently have a Sea-Rayder F16 boat that I'm trying to sell to buy a 3D Di with the 951 engine.

I know bombardier products have very different reliability from one product to another.

Are those skis reliable? I'm a good home mechanic and I can to about everything (except rebuilding the engine) What are common problems and the cause of them?

Basically i want to go for the 951 because i heard it's more reliable, better on fuel and more powerful than the 780ish ? I know they are no longer produced, and I know what it is to have a discontinued product (sportjet 120 in my boat) and that scares me a little for part availability.

In other words, is it a very very funny money pit, or it's a good machine capable of handling a good beating?

i bought a broke 3ddi as it wasnt looked after by previous owner (ran it with no oil in ) but i found a good seadoo mechanic who is rebuilding it for me i asked loads of questions as i heard they had loads of problems to and he told me they are good engines if looked after rite but with it being a high power two stroke after giving it a little beating slow down to let things cool down and breath and give it a beating again but also to make sure its fogged after every use my mate has the xpdi 2003 he had it from new and he has had no work done to engine and it still runs great

i was told from the mechanic im useing and by my mate who has always fogged after each use hence he hasnt had any problems that its best to keep it lubed inside as it disperses any water that might be lying inside engine even condensation which can lead to little rust spots so for the sake of 5 mins of time and a £3 tin of fogging spray its worth it rather than letting rust set in as then its just a ticking time bomb

DI...