No Start: 2000 Challenger 1800 210 Carb

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

JLew081

Ran the boat for an hour this year, ran perfect, full power, no issues. Docked it for an hour, will not start. Starter enages and spins the flywheel. Battery is fully charged. I can hear the fuel pump priming when I turn the key. I'm a shade tree mechanic with advanced knowledge of automotive mechanics, not familiar with boats. My guess is it's not getting spark? Haven't had a chance to check for spark yet. I'm reading a bit about maybe the stator, power pack, trigger plate might be bad on it. It does not even attempt to start. Just spins the flywheel.
I did remove the flywheel-all magnets are good. The stator was rusty and corroded, I cleaned it, re-installed it and the motor still has the same symptoms.

Last edited by a moderator:
At this point... it's going to be hard to tell, since you didn't check for spark yet. BUT... it's generally electrical, if it runs... park... won't run.

BUT... as far as the stator... unless you found a short... I don't think it's going to be that. It will GENERALLY go intermittent.

OK... this may sound dumb (but I've done it) did you put on your lanyard??? Or... is the lanyard loose??

But on those lines... check the Black/yellow wire going back to the coils. It's the kill, and grounds the coils. For a test... you can unplug it back at the coils, and see if you get spark.

Where around Da' Burgh are you?