New top end cause crank to fail?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

rob97xp

Ok, here we go, in the last few posts with members doing new top ends, other members comment that their crank will fail. I have a 97 xp that a member on this forum rebuilt my top end. Told me my crank was nice and tight, no play. That being said, how many members have done a top end rebuild,only to have the crank fail a short time later. Everything I google on the subject comes up with water being sucked in to motor, top end rebuilt wrong, or poorly done, raves not trimmed right, and many other things, but not much on the crank...... Again I'm new to the seadoo thing, but many of my friends have done top end on their sleds, and not one has had a crank fail after top end rebuild...... Rob.

Here's my opinion, & it's really just that. An opinion. I think when an engine needs a top end, two things may have happen to get there. #1 The engine has a lot of hours & the top end is tired.
#2 something more catastrophic has taken place & top end parts are damaged from , bad gas, too lean, lack of oil, etc.

If someone just replaces just the top end, they might be missing another piece to the puzzle. In case #1, the bottom has hours on it too, could need seals, or have worn bearing/s. In case #2 there is more than likely debris that is strewn throughout the case & possibly into the bearings of the crank. Its also possible that leaking seals caused the top end to fail in the first place. So, that being said, its seems highly possible to have crank failure in either case after a top end if the bottom is ignored.

But, if the case is split, crank pulled out, cleaned & inspected. The bearings checked, seals replaced, runout checked, RV gear, etc. I don't see any reason the crank can't be run again.

Just my thoughts....

Every time I see a top end replaced on an engine that has considerable top end damage, & nothing else is pulled apart, I feel its a ticking time-bomb in most cases.