Looking at: Great maintenance history but used up??

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

hartless

Not finding this thru the search function, so I'm putting it out to all of you... Looking at an '06 Speedster 200 Wake (310HP version) that's got a great maintenance history according to the dealer records & a computer scan. The big "but" is that it's got 725hrs on it. For a 9-yr-old southern U.S. boat, is this too high on the hour meter or would it be in the legitimate range? I've got some experience w/ a 150 Speedster but it was the S/C version so I'm completely in the dark about longevity of N/A engines.

It's a 2nd-owner boat & I was told it's owners were watersport fans (wakeboard, skiing, some tubing). Since I'm up north, will be having an independent mechanic take it out on the water & give it a going-over, incl. compression test.

Along with wondering about hours, is there anything else I should ask the mechanic to look more closely at?

As always, your responses are very much appreciated...

- h

btw, if this one ends up to have one foot in the grave & the other on a banana peel, I'd love to hear of a Speedster 200 (w/ tower) looking for a good home in the "under-$15k" range!

Not finding this thru the search function, so I'm putting it out to all of you... Looking at an '06 Speedster 200 Wake (310HP version) that's got a great maintenance history according to the dealer records & a computer scan. The big "but" is that it's got 725hrs on it. For a 9-yr-old southern U.S. boat, is this too high on the hour meter or would it be in the legitimate range? I've got some experience w/ a 150 Speedster but it was the S/C version so I'm completely in the dark about longevity of N/A engines.