Jet Boat/PWC Advice

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Matty_ICE15

Hey guys, another newbie. Reciently got a new job and looking to invest in a waverunner or jet boat with my old man. First real job means that my budget is fairly limited. Looking for a good deal on something that will run fine and last a couple years before I can upgrade. Tubing/Wakeboarding/General weekend usage would be the primary purpose for it. I've seen threads that cover a bunch of different issues when looking at new jet boats (which I'd rather buy than a smaller PWC). Here is a link to one that popped up reciently that caught my eye... http://madison.craigslist.org/boa/4383010827.html

Like I said, I'm new to this so any advice will help.

Thanks,

Matt

Whatever you consider buying, make sure to water test it first if possible. Otherwise you can count on unanticipated problems which can add up quickly. A cylinder compression test is your first line of defense against an engine replacement, something that's been "worked on" often wasn't done correctly unless the person doing the work knows what he's doing and can answer all your questions.

As mentioned, Ride and drive for at least 30 minutes and do a compression test. Let us know the numbers you get and the ski and then we can tell you more about the condition of the engine and where the numbers should be.

Though I only buy 4-stroke larger skis, I don't think they will be an option for you based on the money you want to spend.

2-stroke skis are cheaper in almost all cases. They are often a bit smaller and more nimble as well. I generically can tell you what to look for, others will be able to provide specific information as far as a models and the money you should spend.