Winterize Advice 2005 Sportster 4-tec intercooler (new boat owner)

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

sun07set

Looking for some advice as it is my first time winterizing my 2005 Sportster 4-tech with intercooler (closed loop system). Live in the PNW of US for temperature context as it does get into freezing temps. I wasn't able to finish winterizing per manual but did get some work done and am wondering if I need to contact a mechanic to follow the manual directions or if anyone has this boat and doesn't have issues in freezing temps.

The shop manual "Antifreeze Protection" directions states:
-remove both intercooler hoses
-let the intercooler drain, then connect the bottom hose
-pour approx 200ml antifreeze into the cooler
-pour approx 300ml of antifreeze into the exhaust manifold
-reconnect the upper hose

It has a big CAUTION: it is highly recommended to pour antifreeze into the intercooler and exhaust manifold. Failure to do so may result in damage to these components.

I wasn't able to get the hoses off the intercooler. I did run the boat without water 1 minute to flush out any existing water and move the fuel stabilizer from the tank into engine. YouTube videos show people winterizing Sportsters by gravity feeding antifreeze via a garden hose connected on the rear of the craft by the jet pump support. I did this with a half gallon antifreeze until the pink fluid was flushing out. I did fog the engine.

What do you think? Advice would be greatly appreciated as I don't want to damage my new to me boat.

Last edited:
If you have already completed this, here is what I do.

I don't pull any hoses at all. I use a sump pump and 5 gal bucket. I fill it will antifreeze and with the engine running pump the entire bucket through the engine through the flush inlet. That gets the exhaust and intercooler with antifreeze.