General tips and advice for someone with no experience in mechanics?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jkenney95

Hello all

Im brand new to this forum so hopefully im posting this in the right place and following all the rules; advise if otherwise.

a few days ago i purchased a '93 SeaDoo XP Bombardier. This is the first time ive ever owned any sort of watercraft, and not only that, but i have no experience in small engine mechanics. I am eager and excited to learn, but i think i just need a little help as to where i can get started.

I pulled the manual for my SeaDoo model and gave it a quick run through, but its of course 300 pages and im having a hard time keeping up with it all. So to keep it simple, im hoping someone can point me in the right direction with regards to where i can begin my journey with learning how to maintain, troubleshoot, and understand the components to the engine well enough to identify issues or where i can add replacements/upgrades.

Here are a few things id like to know:

this is obviously a used jetski. i know the engine starts and runs, but i havent taken it out yet. is there a list of items i need to go over before taking it out on the water?

i see that it has an oil injection system. does this mean i dont need to mix oil with my gasoline?

since its an older model, im sure theres plenty of wear. are there some easy-to-replace parts i can start off with that would improve longevity and performance?

is it bad to start the engine out of water?

ultimately, i just dont even know where to start with my research. i would be very grateful if someone can point me in the right direction. im sure a general understanding of small engine mechanics would benefit me greatly.

Thank you for any help, tips, or advice you can share with me