Gelcoat or fiberglass repair?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

gtoimpulse

I am new to boating and hit a rock or something that caused this gouge in the fin on the hull of my Speedster. :facepalm:

The other damage (in the background) was there already and I think I need to add some fiberglass to it before gelcoating. Do you think that I need to fill in the fiberglass or I can just gelcoat over this long skinny one too?

Any advise is appreciated. I al installing my depth finder this weekend to hopefully prevent this in the future.

Attachments

• Gouge 2.jpg
    Gouge 2.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 228
  • Gouge.jpg
    Gouge.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 217
Pictures aren't the greatest but from what I see you just went through the gel-coat. Doesn't look like you need to bother with any fiberglass. Make sure your fiberglass is not cracked, though.

From the photos looks like you have only took off the gel coat. I had good luck with this kit on a boat.

http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wc...&subdeptNum=50219&classNum=50224#.Uh9-NT9RR8E

Preparation of the repair is key to a good fix. There was some great videos on YouTube that gave me the confidence to try it. My repair was 90% perfect for less than 50 bux. To get it done in the shop I was quoted $400.00.

You can buy the kit at BassPro shop.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the input. I will give it a try myself, its on the bottom so I can mess up a few times and redo if need be.

Heck... it's on the bottom......

I'd dab on a little white touch-up paint and call it a day.

Thanks for the input. I will give it a try myself, its on the bottom so I can mess up a few times and redo if need be.

The real secret to gel coat is sand sand sand. I almost tempted to say let it be until you get more scratches. Then put the time into the repair. I maybe doing this process this winter/fall.