Fuel Delivery Issue

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Funktastic

Hello everyone,

Just joined the forum and am new to jet skis so I tried to self-educate myself as best as possible. I’m used to working on motorcycles and ATV's so I decided to pick up a couple of old jet skis my buddy had and try to fix them up, and this is where I have run into my problem.

I have a 1990 Seadoo Bombardier XP with a circular black carb that leads to a circular fuel pump.

The issue is most likely fuel delivery from my diagnosis. This is what I have done so far:
1) cleaned the carb and rebuilt it
2) Cleaned out the fuel pump
3) drained all the old gas out and added new with sea foam
4) replaced the fuel line that goes directly into the gas tank, so i know it is touching gas.

The situation goes like this: I did all of the above and it seems like the fuel isn’t being delivered. The fuel filter bowl isn’t filling up with gas even though I blew on the hose going directly to the gas tank and there are no blockages. I then continued to spray a pre-mixed 2 stroke and gasoline mix into the carb to run it, and while it doesn’t idle, if I rev and spray I can deficiently keep it going and everything runs fine. I have also tried taking the fuel pump and putting the intake directly in a cup of premix and it sucked it up a little but then didn’t continue.

So my questions are:

1) I feel as if there is some problem in the fuel pump but I don’t know how to go about fixing it. How might I do this?
2) I don’t know if because the engine runs while I spray premix into the car, does that rule out the problem of it being the carb? I did not conduct a "pop off test", so how crucial is that to my situation?
3)Also, when I was taking apart the carb, I was looking at the jet and noticed that there is not a hole that passes all the way through it like on m motorcycle jets. I was wondering if this is normal.