Dewinterizing Seadoo Islandia

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

leo111

So let me first state that yes, I am a rookie boater...but very interested in learning as much as possible.

With that said - here is my question for the pros:

I purchased my boat in a winterized state in November 2010. The 2011 summer (last summer) was my first year and it was awesome, no problems what-so-ever! Being a rookie boater, I called a boat mechanic store in my region prior to my first boating season and said that I wanted to get my boat ready for the season and dewinterized. So it was done and I was charged $250 +/-. No big deal. So I found another boat "store" that was much closer since then. I had the new "store" winterize the boat after this past season and they charged around $180 +/-. Great! So now here I am getting ready for the 2012 season and called this store that winterized the boat to dewinterize the boat and he said that I didnt need to do anything to it. He said that they use a biodegradeable fuel stabilizer/anti-freeze and that they fogged the engine to winterize it. He said the fogged engine may smoke a little when I first start it but other than that he said hook up the batteries and drop it in and go. I sounded like an idiot because I'm on the other line (a rookie mind you) saying "Well I dont know, I just want you to dewinterize it" not really knowing what all is entailed in that. And the "store" is saying well what all do you want me to do to it...I DONT KNOW...just dewinterize the dang thing...whatever that means. Don't I need to get an oil change or replace oil filters or something...something doen't sound right to me. I don't want to trailer the boat somewhere (1.5 hrs away) to be dead in the water or sink for that matter.

Any responses at all would be great!! Thanks in advance guys!!

Leo