Blown 25 amp Battery Fuse

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

TenRC

Hey Guys,

I need a little help here. I have seen similar posts with no solution. I hope someone out there can help.

Here it is...

I have two 2003 XP DIs. My son took one of them out a couple of weeks ago and it completely died after running through some hard turns.

I am a controls engineer but there is not enough info in the manual I found to make sense of the problem. Here is what I know.

1) 25 Amp Battery fuse blows quickly when Lanyard is connected to the post.
2) Disconnected all other fuses except Main and Bilge and tried again. Problem persists. - Schematic does not identify beyond the fuses but something is causing the short.
3) Reinstalled fuses - Disconnected 30 Amp Main. Problem went away. - I think the problem is after power reaches the MPEM
4) Reinstalled Main - Disconnected Regulator. Problem persists. - I think Stator is OK.

Bought these skis new and have never had a problem with them in the last 10 years.

If you have seen this problem before or have any additional troubleshooting ideas, please let me know.

Thanks in advance...
Steve

Hi and Welcome to the SeaDoo forum.

Try disconnecting the VTS, there should be a black connector, with red and black wires just above the battery.

Lou

Disconnected three cables running next to the battery. No change. - The drawings imply power must go through one of the secondary branch circuit fuses. So this problem, in my mind, indicates a short prior to the secondary circuits or through a component not shown in the schematics. Does anyone disagree or have further ideas? :cheers:

Check the resistance on your stator wiring, I remember reading somewhere about a yaht captain that had been wrestling with a similar issue in a 3d di that ended up being a shorted stator winding due to metal shavings from the bendix