'95 SPI - Runs perfect - Then Bogs down to Idle

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandman1xx

Hey Everyone.... I'm a Newbie here. I will apologize in advance for redundant questions. I have searched the "Fuel - Bog - Power" tag words and have narrowed my issue down to about 10 possible causes. Please help......

I have recently purchased this '95 SPI. Initially, I rebuilt the jet pump & went to the lake. It ran fine for about 5 minutes then lost power - down to idle speed - and required "pumping" the throttle to keep it running at idle speed. It would restart without difficulty if stalled. But, no rpm gains with throttle increases ( maybe 200-300 total rpm increase). Then, after 10 - 15 minutes rest, it will run fine for a minute or two. After a few hours rest - the ski will repeat the cycle & run 5 min. initially - then one or two minutes.

Then I found this forum..... replaced all fuel lines....cleaned both carb fuel filters & the main fuel filter.... Replaced the fuel pump diaphragm and gaskets ....and in the process - discovered that the pressure relief check valve only functioned with high levels of pressure - the gas tank vent check valve was O.K. Back to the lake ..... ran perfect for 25 to 30 minutes and.... the same symptoms surfaced... Bogged down to idle & never cuts off. After resting the ski for an hour.... it's run time is just a minute.

I have currently (since last lake trip), flushed the gas tank (which had a significant amout of crap ), and replaced with "Known" fresh fuel. Cleaned the fuel selector valve. I have not lake tested it yet.

My question is...... Where should I go from here? (After the fuel line & pressure relief valve replacement.... the ski ran great for 30 minutes).... ( Fresh gas & fuel selector clean-up has not been tested yet ). I did not rebuild the carbs because of the 30 minute perfect run time.