Why is so much water in my boat?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Guys and Girls,

I am new to boating and used my Sportster LE Boat for the 1st time today in the River Thames (UK).

We had the bilge pump switched on nearly all the time!

When we removed the boat from the river the water kept pouring out of the boat for ages!!!!!

Is this normal?

I made sure the two drain plugs at the back of the boat where fully screwed in and tight and check when the boat was taken out of the water and they were still tight....

Lots of water come out of a single drain hole on the side of the boat...........is this correct?

Sorry if this is a silly question or asked many times before but I am new to all this boating stuff and hope someone here can help me?

Many thanks
Dave.

You need to fill the bilge with some water(plugs in) and check for where it is leaking out. Or with the boat strapped to the trailer plugs in back it down the ramp and see where water is entering. Could be coming in through the carbon seal. Not real familiar with this boat, is this a twin engine boat?

Hello 97GtxMan1687 and thank you for your reply.

My boat spec is:

Seadoo Sportster LE

Year of boat 2003

130HP 1 x 951.2cc Rotax carburettor engine

2 cylinders

Lubrication is via variable ratio oil injection

Water cooled, water injected exhaust

Take it to the ramp, back it in the water, start the motor while still on the trailer and check for leaks. My guess it is the carbon seal. While a small amount of leakage is acceptable, yours sounds like a lot more.

Your carbon seal is items #8 and 14. Before you go to the ramp, when was the last time you greased the PTO? Item #2