When is it safe??

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

houseofcash

Hi All

Okay so I'm new to the PWC world! Just bought my first Seadoo 2 weeks ago! I am excited to get her on the water. Anyone know when it would be warm enough to take her out in a shorty wet suit? I own a trailer on lake Erie, which opens May 1st. So I will be taking her out on Erie.

Is May to cold? Am I crazy?

Thanks!!

LOL... No, your not crazy!!! Just really wanting to have some fun.

I have a friend in BC and he rides in the lake up there, with a wet suit, as soon as the snow melts. So, get your wet suit and go give it a try, whenever your heart desires.

In the colder weather, you might want to make sure you idle a bit longer, get the motor really good and warm before going at it full throttle. You may also find you need to use your choke a little longer to warm up, but after it's warm, it should be fine.

Depending on where the boat was purchased, it might need to be re-jetted. The motors that are run down in the south part of the states, have warmer are so run leaner than those that are tuned to run up north. So, you might have to enrichen your low speed jet. But, I wouldn't do anything until you got on the water and run it for a while. After that, looking at your spark plugs will tell you if you need to add more fuel to the run.

Thanks for the reply "Seadoosnipe" glad to know I'm not crazy to ask the question. You can say I got the winter blues... To bad it was so cold today, we has sustain winds of 70kmh with gust up to 100. Would have been some serious waves out there!! What's the coldest anyone went out in?

LOL... No, your not crazy!!! Just really wanting to have some fun.

I have a friend in BC and he rides in the lake up there, with a wet suit, as soon as the snow melts. So, get your wet suit and go give it a try, whenever your heart desires.