Thinking of buying a 98 Sportster1800, any advice?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jazper11

Let me start off by saying hello, I've been perusing the forum for a few days now looking for info on a 1998 Sportster 1800 I found on Craigslist. I am new to boating but have always wanted to experience the pain and pleasures of owning a boat. I like the idea of the Sea Doo jet boats due to their relative small size and maneuverability. I found what looks like a well-cared for 98 Sportster 1800 on craigslist and am considering taking the 3 hour drive to go check it out. I wanted to get the forum's opinion on the boat in general and get some tips on what to look for.

From what I got from the seller is the engines are referbs from Full Bore in FL (not sure if 717 or 787), rebuilt pumps, new starters and "everything powertrain wise" but not sure what all that entails. The boat has a few extras, wake tower, hydro turf, aftermarket stereo and speakers and Sea Doo canopy. The seller is asking $7500 which seem a bit high based on NADA.

My biggest hang up is the age of the boat and the reliability that comes from that. I'm relatively mechanically inclined and not afraid of some wrenching, but want to spend more time in the water than in the shop. What big questions do I need to be asking the seller and what should I look for upon inspection? Also from those who have owned these before what sort of annual maintenance costs am I in for (winterization, basic maint, consumables)? I am also wondering but afraid to ask what sort of gas mileage are we looking at here, I've read anecdotal "gas hog" comments but nothing with numbers on it (whats a day on the lake going to cost me?). I appreciate any help you guys can provide and hope things work out with this deal, the hardest part is going to be convincing the wife!

Cheers!

Attachments

• 00O0O_blZ4AKTcnUD_600x450.jpg