Supercharger rebuild 100 hours????

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
regardless if you've been on this forum for years and only seen a couple threads of this occurance. that doesn't mean these washers are full proof. i am a sea-doo tech. i work for sea-d00. i 've seen tones of theese washers go bad. its just something that happened when you do not to regularly schedualed maintence. by the way you do not need any kind of special tool for this job. just have torque bits for you ratchet.

Im not saying the metal washers wont break just saying there the best ones you can use. If all you use is a rachet to change the washers then how do you hold the gear and check the slip with just a rachet?????

Last edited by a moderator:
Guys, now that I've done the research I think I understand this issue. Please tell me if my logic is correct.

The 2007 boat I'm buying has the ceramic washers. This boat is under warranty till 10/2011. With 31 hours on boat I intend to bring it to Barneys of St Pete at 50 hours for the 50 hour service. At that time I will ask them to inspect the Supercharger. If they say its fine(and document that) I then plan on doing the rebuild at 100 hours. If the supercharger grenades before the 100 hours I'm covered under warranty correct?

Craig

How much is the replacement of the washers?

If they are going to service it, why not replace it and not have a suspect part in the boat? I rather pay a few hundred dollars and not have a incident that puts it out of commission for weeks for either a rebuilt or a replacement.

Good point

Jim,

You make a good point. True it should be covered under warranty but how sucky would it be to A) be out on the water with the family and get stranded. And B) have my boat in service for who knows how many weeks getting it fixed and dealing with the incredible frustrations.