Seadoo 951 pop off questions

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Landen Koch

I’ve got a 2000 seadoo xp, and I am installing 2.3 needle seats and 95 low speeds and 167.5 high speeds. The pop off on the pto carb was good-around 20 with the dull silver spring and dropped to about 10 and always held the pressure perfectly. The mag carb I am struggling with. I have the tester on the big 5/16 nipple and every other nipple capped off with a zip tie. It will not hold pressure (slowly leaks) and pops at about 15-18 usually and falls to about 5-10 and eventually loses all its pressure. I have tried different o rings on the needle seats but I’m pretty new to this so any info would be appreciated, thanks

where did you get the rebuild kit from, is it OEM? If it is OEM, I would disassemble and inspect each part for damage and inspect housing for damage. then I would submerge the carb and see if I could tell where the leak is coming from. if nothing is found I would buy another OEM kit and install it.

Also, review the carb rebuild thread to verify you are on track.

First off, why are you changing the jetting and needle and seat size?
Make it run way better, the head was flattened a very slight amount so compression will increase very slightly, and I think it will be healthier on the new top end because I made tuning much easier.

where did you get the rebuild kit from, is it OEM? If it is OEM, I would disassemble and inspect each part for damage and inspect housing for damage. then I would submerge the carb and see if I could tell where the leak is coming from. if nothing is found I would buy another OEM kit and install it.

Also, review the carb rebuild thread to verify you are on track.
The kit is all genuine mikuni parts and I have already inspected it all, but I never thought to submerge it so I will definitely give it a try, just soapy water would work?