Please help!!! Ready to pull my hair out!!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

SpennyGTI

2003 seas gti le rfi new DESS post and battery, ignition module, when we put the key on post it blows a 5 amp fuse in the MPEM fuse block, any ideas or help would be great!!

Thanks

Im not an expert but your MPEM diode may be shot...Looks as though your mpem is similar to my 97 GSI... I just went thru this madness...
Check out my thread... Lots of good info including a fix....

97 GSI 5a Fuse

Yeah, I've never messed with an RFI but on carb skis the 5 amp blowing is usually a bad MPEM. You can try to replace the diode which is a pain or just get a used mpem which can be pricey.

If it doesn't blow the fuse until you put the DESS lanyard on, I doubt its the diodes. I would look at the circuit(s) that power up whenever you put the lanyard on like gauges, etc

If it doesn't blow the fuse until you put the DESS lanyard on, I doubt its the diodes. I would look at the circuit(s) that power up whenever you put the lanyard on like gauges, etc
Reason I suggested the diode... maybe OP doesnt realize the fuse blows prior to plugging in dess.. if it's more than whisper quiet when you hook up battery, the pop may not he heard...

Good point. What I'd do then is hook up the battery and then check the fuse prior to putting the lanyard on. If the fuse is blown, then I would agree that it is probably the diodes. If it is not blown, then reinstall the fuse and proceed to putting the lanyard on and check the fuse again to see if it's blown.

I now have two skis with electronic issues. :) I'm gonna get very proficient at this at some point. I have the ECM diode identified and lots of replacements for the 96 SPI. LOL It's ON !!