Newbie here. Intro

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

gpshemi

Well 'm a newbie poster here. Been lurking for some time while looking for a project boat. I just picked up a 98' Sportster 1800 "for a steal" as one person proclaimed to me. It's got some issues, so that's part of the reason.

She's been abused and mistreated. However, the last owner has been doing work on her engines. One was replaced entirely it sounds like, the other was rebuilt top and bottom recently and I have receipts for that work. Both engines had about 135psi in the cylinders. I couldn't find where anyone had listed theirs. I assume this is about on par for them. Problems I'm faced with since I got it in the water to test out. Any advice on these would be great.

1) One motor gives me overheat alarm. However, doesn't appear to be running hot after cruising around and several high speed runs. Pulled the wire off the sensor and it stops. Nothing in the pumps. Suspect bad sensor. Can it be tested?

2) Starboard side cavitates like crazy. Nothing in pumps. Wear rings and impellers were just replaced. They look very good and have less then 1mm gap in them for sure. I suspect either thru hull seal or pump seal. It does seem to take on a fair amount of water while running. However, when sitting I didn't see it filling up. Looking underneath I see the shaft tube coming through the hull in the pump area. One blue, one white. The ends are chewed up and different lengths. Should those be trimmed flush to the pump area? I suspect one has been replaced already and that's the reason for the color difference.

3) Speedo doesn't work. Suspect paddle wheel. Hoping gauge is ok. Need to do ohm check on it at the connector in the bay. What settings do I use on a multi meter?