Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis

Premium Member
Premium Member
Hi there. My name is Dennis. My drinking buddies call me "DAWG". I've been a member for a few days now and feel like a kid in a candy store! I've been a mechanic by trade for over 30 years. I'm 52 but thanks to my healthy life style (beer,cigarettes,fast food and bending wrenches into the wee hours of the morning) I don't feel a day over 85. I got a couple of 03 4TECS that have been really good to me. I was happy to see the engine management on the 4TECS wasn't much different than a car. It didn't take me long to learn my way around the system. I know enough now to keep myself in trouble just most of the time instead of all the time. Well, enough about me.
Thanks for having me, DAWG

Welcome DAWG!

Glad to have you here in the forum Dawg!....It's nice to see someone in here as young as me! Like you, I've been mechanic'in about 40 years. Not counting the B & S or Tecumseh's, my first real engine to work on was a 1949 flat 6, mopar. From there, it just continued........just too curious to stop. Back then, they called us "shade tree mechanics". I don't know if they still use that term or not, but I was called "monkey". There wasn't any space under a hood I couldn't fit.
Reading your post brought back old memories of making sure I had a book of matches on me so that in case my 283 died out on me, I could pop the cap and use the striking surface to sand the carbon build-up off my points. Then the world of electronic ignition came in.
My two most loved engines to build were the 327 and the 350. One in a Camero and the other in my C-10. Yeah, I'm a Chevy man. My most expensive was the 350, with my Offenhauser 6" intake and my 850 Holley double pumper. Yeah, I had the 202 heads with 486 cam (combined lift and duration). And of course, headers with cherry bombs (glass packs).