New guy, trying to get SeaDoo's ready for the water. 95 & 96 GTX's.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

RedAggie03

RedAggie03's 95 & 96 GTX Projects

I bought a lakehouse this year and the guy threw in the two SeaDoo's he had. I'm now the proud (I think?) owner of a 1995 GTX 657X and a 1996 GTX 787. No idea if these are good years and models, but they were basically free...so I'm going to roll with it. I love resto projects, so this gives me a solid start with no investment.

I'm new to PWC's, but I'm pretty good with reading on Forums and Google searches - based on what I've read and the issues I've experienced with these GTX's, here's my initial evaluation:

1995 GTX- Runs great for something 19 years old. ...for 15 or 20 minutes. Then it goes into limp mode it seems - only runs at low RPM's. Not sure what causes this. It still has grey lines - so those will be replaced ASAP.
  • Replace grey lines
  • Compression test
  • Clean carbs
  • Go through the oiling system, replace lines
  • Fix fuel gauge - bad float?
  • New grips - ODI Rogue
  • Clean inside of hull - very oily and dirty
  • Clean and polish

1996 GTX - Needs a new wear ring BADLY. It runs wonderful, but goes almost nowhere. Gets up to speed, but wow...no balls off the line. No grey lines and recent service completed, shouldn't need much (famous last words)
  • Compression test
  • Replace wear ring
  • New anti-rattle cone and oil
  • Check oiling system, replace lines and clean if required
  • Replace screen on info gauge - crystalized
  • New grips - ODI Rogue
  • Clean inside of hull
  • Clean and polish
  • Check RAVE valves

Anyway, I love restoring things and forums...so I'll see y'all around.

- Jason

576.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: