First time owner, what should I know?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

csdawson97

Hi guys! I’m picking up a seadoo 3 seater supercharged tomorrow, I’m not sure the exact model. I’m an HVAC contractor and had a surplus of newer used equipment taken off an apartment remodel and had a guy offer a 4 wheeler and the seadoo for one of them installed. Since I have no cash tied in it, only a days time, I agreed. I looked at them both but didn’t examine them. The seadoo looked in good physical shape, wasn’t really faded, cover was in good shape, I only pulled the cover back and looked at front part, had been stored outdoors (we’re in upstate SC, we’ve had a good bit of freezing nights in past several months). He says the seadoo has a fresh motor rebuild, hasn’t been in the water since it was done. I’m checking them both out tomorrow before we start work, what do I need to know to check on it? How do you run them out of water? I had a bow rider years back and ran it with muffs when working on it, but have never owned a jetski, only ridden friends. Is there anything to check on the supercharger? Any particular places to examine for fiberglass cracks? I’ll post the year, model, and a pic tomorrow when I get there. Any help or advice would be appreciated! I’m extremely mechanically minded, but jet skis are completely unfamiliar to me and I don’t want to delude myself that I know what I’m doing.

Don't concern yourself too much with the condition of the glass. The motor and S/C are your prime concerns.. Once you know year, model, hours (will display when 'key' is connected) you might get more help.. You can generally find the owners manuals for newer machines online, read it!