97xp blowing 5 amp fuse please help newbie

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

720tobe

hello, im a newbie here and need some help but first id like to say hi to everyone and thanks in advance for your help...
ok i have a 97 xp that is blowing the 5 amp fuse,,, i have done some research of my own and believe that its the rectifier but not 100% I disconnected the yellow plug on the rectifier and it didnt blow the fuse but it still only runs for about 15 sec if i plug it in it blow the fuse but runs about the same time.... I have tested the battery while running and its only getting about 11.3 and while not running its geting about 12 is there any thing i can to to better my decision or do you all think its my mpem please any help would be wonderful... also this ski has aftermarket head, exhaust and carbs if that helps.. thanks

diagnosing...

with the yellow wires unplugged, and the fuse stops pop'n, need to take a look in the stator assy. Possible one or both coils are goin, or wires inside the magneto housing/flywheel housing, are pinched/corroded caus'n the short, or there could be "metal" shavings from the bendix, thats ground'n out the stator, caus'n the fuse to pop...

hello, thanks for your quick reply, forgot to mention i just replaced the starter becasue it went out and wouldnt do anything does this aleter your decision, also would that cause the battery to lose volts while running.. thanks again,,,

as long the connections at starter are clean, along with the ground..it'll be ok. your not get'n the volt read'n, cuz the wires are disconnected.
Take a gander at the stator assy, stud...think you'll find ur answer..:cheers:

i got this reading while it was pluged up and the gear on the starter wasnt wore just the starters elctrics went bad so i dunno about the metal shavings... Were do i access the parts you say i need to check.. thanks again for your help