97 GTX low power and speed

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

beranrl

I am new to PWC, and just bought 2 97 GTX units. Recently while riding I noticed one of them was slower than the other, and that the impeller area was not as quiet as the other. When my son had it out last week it was much slower, and impeller areas was making a whining sound. He immediately shut it down, and quit riding it. When I went to start it, it doesnt turn over. Could this be an rebuild to the impeller, or motor issues now? Please let me know any thoughts.

Is this a premix ski? If not does the oil tank have sufficient oil in it? Did you mix two different oils together because this can cause a gel to form and clog the oil injection system causing engine failure. Have you checked the jet pump for obstructions and or rope stuck around the shaft? Is the battery good?

Thanks for the reply. We did mix some oil, as no sea doo oil was available, but all had the proper ratings for the units, and the person I bought them from couldnt remember the brand of oil, only the ratings used. I will check the impeller housing tonight when I get home. How hard is it to replace and rebuild the impeller area?

I guess I should clarify further. The oil you used might be rated for the ski but it might not compatible with the other oil that is in the tank. For instance, Mixing mineral oil with certain types of sythetic can cause oil injection failure. Since you don't know what the previous owner used I would check both ski's carefully to be sure this hasn't happened.

As far as the pump goes I have not rebuilt one personally but generally you're looking at replacing the wear ring, Inspecting and or replacing the impeller which requires a removal tool, Changing the jet pump oil (80-90wt.)and sealing everthing back up. All of these things can be handled by the average shade tree mechanic.:)