96 SeaDoo Challenger start problems

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

mendiola_tj

First of all let me just say thank you in advance for anyone who offers their advice and suggestions!

I'm a newbie to the boating world in general and just purchased a 96 Challenger (which has a single engine 787 Rotax) in beautiful condition. When I went to purchase it the seller walked me around the boat and started it up for me for no more than a few seconds while on the trailer. I was ecstatic and towed the boat home and have it sitting in my garage. Here is where I'm not sure if I messed up or not. I started the boat for a friend to see- the first couple times I did not hold down the start/stop button for long enough and it did not completely turn over. On the 4th attempt I held the button down and it started right up which I left on for 4-5 seconds before turning it right back off again. Now I recently went out to lake to go for a drive and before I put the boat in the water I wanted to test start it again (just to make sure when I'm in the lake that I'm not sitting there unable to move) and when I attempted to start the boat it wouldnt! It cranks like it wants to turn over and then nothing. The battery is only two months old but did I drain it attempting to start it? What happened in a matter of a week? Any help!

1.) Does it still have the old gray fuel lines? If it does, search the forum using "Gray Fuel lines". You will have to replace them, and clean the carbs, and clean out the fuel system.

2.) you probably should charge the bat. Be sure to REMOVE the bat from the Doo, BEFORE charging it. You will overvolt the electrical sys. and hurt it if you don't.

3.) If you ever use jumper cables to start it, be sure you DO NOT have the motor running on the HOST end, that is boosting it. Again, you will overvolt it, and cause damage.