2003 GTI RFI rebuild or new engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

f4ifrank

This Seadoo was passed on to me by a family member. We had fun on it this summer and then it stopped running. Took it to the local dealer and they said there was no compression in one of the cylinders. I'm not a mechanic, so I'm trying to get the best advice as to what direction to take? Dealer said around $3000 for a rebuild. I've done some research on here and found a thread on SES and saw some info on Full Bore Online.

So I have a couple of questions?

Should I go with a new OEM engine? Idea on cost? or

Should I rebuild what I have? Recommend a rebuilder?

How much should a shop charge to remove and install the engine? And from the research I've done on here, I think I understood that the carbs need to be rebuilt at the same time?

Thanks for any help, love the forum, just found it today.

And Merry Christmas! :thumbsup:

welcome to the forum! first of all the rfi has no carbs but fuel injection. i just had my 787rfi rebuild by ses took 8 weeks including shipping both ways.
cost me 949.00 with 2 year no fault warranty shipped both ways as part of the off season special but i see that the price will increase to 999.00 as of jan 1 2014. it would cost as much to do it yourself without warranty! sbt has quick turnaround time but is more$
then there's full bore but i don't know much about them. somebody may chime in.
one of the things you need to find out is what the was cause of failure. wrong oil? bad injectors? leaking oil hose? or just plain worn out?
knowing what the cause was will go a long way to keep it from repeating itself again.
for peace of mind i would also replace the fuel injectors.http://www.fastlaneturbo.com/bosch65lbhour650cclowimpedancefuelinjector.aspx
if you have any mechanical skills you may attempt to r&r the motor yourself. down load the service manual and visit this great forum full of info and skills. ask away and keep us posted.