2002 X20 with 240 EFI m2 Seems rich when trying to start

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian in Honolulu

First its not my boat. I am the mechanic.
When I first looked at the boat I determined it was hard to start due to fuel issue. As I don't have fuel pressure tester I took it to A mercury repair shop. $400 and they said all was good but need injectors .
I took it home and found injectors to be over $500 each injector. So I sent them to be rebuilt. Came back all good.
Put it all back together with new filters and fuel lines.
Ran good out of water. Put it in the water and did not make it 150 feet before died and would not start. I determined fuel.
I remind you I am not a outboard technician.
I studied parts lists until I realized there are 2 separate fuel systems I am dealing with.
I realized low pressure system is pumping fuel from tank through filters and to high pressure fuel tank where there is a float and needle and seat just like a carburetor. Found my first problem. needle stuck not letting in fuel.
So to anyone here not trying to help me fix my other issue and reading just for information, don't forget to check that needle and seat in secondary fuel bowel.
So now I have it running. but seems rich when trying to start.
I need to turn the steering wheel to open up throttle plate for easier starting. While out in the ocean today low speed throttle cable broke . I was glad I took a second person with me. Someone had to turn the key while I held open the throttle so it would start.
So why would my fuel injected engine be so cranky starting? Good compression, good fuel, good spark and plugs. What am I missing here that I can check?
I cant send people out into the ocean with a boat that is not reliable. I may be able to McGuiver it but I can't teach the owners how to also.
What am I missing here?