1996 Seadoo Challenger Problems (Video)

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone! I have always had great luck with getting help and learning new things on this forum as it is my first year with Seadoo's and watercraft's for that matter. Here is to hoping I can get some more help and direction as to how I should approach the following problems:

I took out my recently purchased 1996 Seadoo Challenger with the single 787 engine for the first time to test it out knowing that there will be some problems for me to address through the winter.

I have linked a video in the bottom of this post to clarify the problems further, the video includes short clips of the issues I ran into.

Problem 1: For the first 5-10 minutes running the boat it felt a little choppy if I pushed the boat with full throttle I would get hesitation in the RPMs where they would reach around 6200 and drop down to 5800 for 1 - 2 seconds then go back up to 6200 and the boat would not plane out. After the 5-10 minutes this problem stopped occurring.

Problem 2: The water regulator is leaking in the engine compartment on idle it would only leak a little but once i push the throttle it would leak badly.

Problem 3: Boat is very slow to plane and slow top speed. It taking maybe around 30 seconds to reach plane with 2 light adults on the boat and would max out at about 6800-6900 RPMs and 37 MPH

Problem 4: Boat is smoking a lot through the tailpipe especially on low speeds (could be normal) but seems to be smoking much more than my 1997 SPX with the same engine.

Link to show the problems:

Any help is much appreciated,

Thanks in advance for all the help!

That water reg is there for bottom end, and then shuts off. Since yours is leaking, you are not getting total bottom end performance, and it will hinder top end.