What is considered high hours for a jet boat?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

mat5182

I apologize ahead of time if this has been covered but i didnt see it in other searches. I'm new to boating and trying to understand what is considered high mileage for a jet boat. Some general googling has lead me to believe that 50 hours is considered low and anything over 150 is considered high? is that accurate? I'm on a limited budget and looking at speedsters or sportsters. Would still like to find something reliable though. And would like to better understand how to spot a good deal. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks.

50 hours is about 1 summer. I would say that anything over 200 hours will need some work, but that's still not high. 500 is high.

I think an hour meter other then for preventative maintenance to some extent is dumb... how many hours are on Joe blows 1999 challenger? Nobody knows and nobody cares. It may have a 1000 hours on it but as long as it looks nice and runs well he is going to get 7000.00 for it. What am I going to get for a 2007 speedster when its 13 years old and the hour meter says 1000 hrs... This is a debatable subject and maintenance records do go along way but you have to admit, the number that gets displayed on newer models does keep away some buyers regardless of maintenance.

The amount of hours can vary a lot. I bought my boat when it was 10 years old with only 85 hours on it. Now 4 years later its only got about 100 on it. Im lucky to take it out 3 or 4 times a year. I know other guys on here who put 100 on in a single season.