Wet storage at Marina

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

alex roundhouse

Hey all, new to the forum and need some advice. I just leased a slip at the local marina on the lake near our home. This is my first time leasing a slip and am wondering what is recommended to maintain the boat in long term slip storage. It's a covered slip with no lift. I guess another good question is, is there a problem with leaving my boat in the water for long periods of time?
Thanks for any advice!

Wet storage....

There is no real problem with wet storage as long as you take a few steps to provide protection to the hull and pump.
With the boat in the water for a prolong period of time, marine growth will begin to grown on the bottom of your hull in the form of algae and small crustaceans such as barnacles, etc......The type of growth depends on the type of water your in and the geographical location.
Boat owners that keep their boats in the water for most or all of their life span, coat the bottom once a year with an "anfi-fouling" coating. It's a barrier coating (like paint) with a "pesticide" type component in it that deters marine growth. It's not harmful to the marine life, it just deters them from colonizing on your boat. This coating is applied in two parts. The barrier coating, which seals the fiberglass from "blisters" and then the "anti-fouling" coat. The more expensive anti-fouling coatings can last upwards of 3 or 4 years but yearly inspections are necessary. Blisters in the fiberglass are also a good reason for yearly inspections. Caught early, a blister is easily repaired.