Talk of blown engines are freaking me out

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
What are the warning signs that the oil pump broke?

A blown engine is the big sign. (lol)

Seriously though...

I'm new to the Merc world, and it seems like there is no warning on this one. The plastic gear inside the engine is not serviceable, or easy to see. When it starts to "Strip" then the pump stops, and you loose oil. From what I can tell... it just gives out after about 10 years.

Now... you may have seen my thread about my Islandia project, and I'm not sure what caused my busted rod yet. In my case... the rod cap is missing, and I think the bolts just broke. (not an oil issue) Regardless... I'm on the fence with the OEM oil injection. The pump itself is very reliable... but the system has too many failure points. I don't like that it's a pulse feed up to the secondary tank. I also don't like that the system is variable, but is feeding the vapor separator tank. (Mix response time is too slow)

I'm hoping to spend some time tonight taking my engine apart. If there are any signs of the internal gear being warn... it's not going back in the engine. But, I don't want to deal with mixing a 50 gallon tank.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been wondering what shape my oil drive gear is in and how long it'll last. Got the boat off repo and it was neglected, so not sure on how many hrs. are on engine--or if newly rebuilt. I found another outboard forum that said same thing about oil inj. response time. Going from ~1500 rpm to 5-6000 in 5 seconds has to result in an oil-starved condition. I've ordered the block off parts from Jamestown, but haven't decided if I'm gonna premix or go with this: http://www.marinesolutionswi.com/index.htm