Impeller swap

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Hi all,
I'm a confident mechanic but a novice jetski owner.
I've removed my jetpump from my 2 stroke 2000 gtx and am in the process of replacing wear ring with a new plastic one and swapping the slightly chewed old impeller with a shiny new solas one.
I have a few questions if anyone could help...
1, do I need to replace the bearing ?

2, do I grease the bearing and nose cone or just fill with oil ? (Or both)

3, I see people talk about jetpump seals ......I have 1 wear ring sized rubber that sandwiches between jet pump and jet ski, is that what people are meaning ?

4, is there anything else I should do or check ?

Many thanks.

What did the oil look like that came out when the nose cone was removed? Did it look clean and no signs of water? Does the shaft look good? There will be two shiny areas on the shaft where the seal was riding which is normal. I'll base my answers on it all looking good. I am in your same position of being handy with mechanical stuff just new to jet skis.

1. You must be talking about the thrust bearing. Check them like any other bearing or per the steps in the service manual. I was asking Westside about pumps this week and he said the original bearings and seal last decades, minus water and sand intrusion. They are better than you can buy today. I think you can find OEM quality stuff, you just have to look and pay more. My take on bearings is don't fix what isn't broken.

2. Grease the seal per the shop manual. You don't want it starting dry. No need to grease the other bearings.

3. Westside said use a Neoprene foam seal on the forward end of the pump even on a ski like mine that came without one.