Speedometer sensor

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

GregM64

00 GTX both digital & guage speedometer stopped working, they were working on & off last year. Was wondering if replacing just the paddle or do you think I need to replace the whole speed sensor unit?

I am not an electrical pro, but 1st check that the paddle wheel is there,and therefore that is not an issue. To rule out the sensor, disconnect the plug at the rear of the hull, and then connect your meter to volts DC, then spin the paddle, and you shud have a reading. If this positive, then check for power coming out of your mpem, if this is positive, then, likely, it could be the gauge cluster going.

I've been researching how to check this instrument. The power needs to be connected to the sensor while the voltage test is being done... obviously but I was trying to figure out how to get a reading without power as I have a few junk skis in yard. I tried all of the settings with no luck. LOL I'd like to get the speedo's working and I detest buying parts to throw at failures. On a side note... I never have had any luck removing the sensor from the ride plate. It always gets ugly and the screws don't all come out. The sockets twist in the plastic. Ick !!

I've been researching how to check this instrument. The power needs to be connected to the sensor while the voltage test is being done... obviously but I was trying to figure out how to get a reading without power as I have a few junk skis in yard. I tried all of the settings with no luck. LOL I'd like to get the speedo's working and I detest buying parts to throw at failures. On a side note... I never have had any luck removing the sensor from the ride plate. It always gets ugly and the screws don't all come out. The sockets twist in the plastic. Ick !!